Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Bankruptcy Law Section
Share |

What's New ...

Rewarding Volunteer Opportunity for Attorneys--Find out how you can help people step away from their own personal fiscal cliff!

 

Attorneys are needed to volunteer to work with law students at a new monthly debt clinic that will be offered at the Maricopa County Bar Association. This joint effort project of the Bankruptcy Section of the Maricopa County Bar Association, Phoenix School of Law, and the Volunteer Lawyers Program, will provide assistance to people who need clear information and direction regarding debt and debt collection issues, and who cannot afford to hire an attorney.

     

The next clinics are scheduled for  April 16,May 21, & June 18, 2014 at 5:30 p.m. Find out how you can make a difference by donating just three hours of your time!  For more information, please contact Volunteer Lawyers Program Director Pat Gerrich at pgerrich@clsaz.org or 602-258-3434602-258-3434 ext. 2630.

 

 

Revisions to Local Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure

A state-wide committee has been formed to consider revisions to the Local Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure, and our Section has a seat on the committee. In addition to the social event hosted by the Section in October 2013, we continue to invite members to submit ideas for revisions to the Local Rules to be considered by the committee. We expect the committee to submit its final proposed revisions for consideration by the Arizona bankruptcy judges in early spring of 2014 – so the time for submitting suggested revisions is limited. To submit a proposed rule revision or for further information regarding the Local Rules committee, please contact Section board member Lindsi Weber at lindsi.weber@gknet.com. Further updates regarding the Local Rules revisions will be posted on this website.

 

About the Section

The purpose of the section is:

 

      a)  To educate and inform the section membership on legal and related topics of interest and concern to attorneys practicing bankruptcy law.
      b)  To provide an effective forum for the exchange of ideas, views and information common or unique to bankruptcy law.
      c)  To explore methods and procedures to facilitate and improve the relationship and communicate between the bench and bankruptcy bar.
      d)  To represent and foster professionalism within the legal community and the community at large, and specifically, bankruptcy practice. This may include proposals and support for legislation, court rules and procedures, and appropriate guidelines.
      e)  To facilitate social relationships among section members.

Members of the section receive a discount on CLEs sponsored by the section.

 

Section Membership

To attend meetings and events with networking opportunities and receive a $5 discount on all CLE programs the section sponsors, join the section today for just $25. Please contact Cynthia Quinonez at (602) 682-8582(602) 682-8582 or cquinonez@maricopabar.org.

 

Meetings

The section's Executive Board generally meets on the third Wednesday of every month at the MCBA office. Any member of the section is welcome to attend. Please reserve in advance to Bree Boehlke at bboehlke@maricopabar.org.

 

Continuing Legal Education

Check the master calendar for programs sponsored by this section.

 

2014 Bankruptcy Law Section Executive Board

 

Joel Newell, Chair, Lane & Nach, PC
joel.newell@lane-nach.com

Ben Reeves, Immediate Past Chair, Snell & Wilmer, LLP
breeves@swlaw.com

Dean Dinner, Treasurer, Nussbaum Gillis & Dinner, PC
ddinner@ngdlaw.com

Jeremy Goodman,Seretary, Goodman Law, PLLC
jeremy@goodmanlawpllc.com

Andrew Hardenbrook, Secretary & Treasurer, Snell & Wilmer, LLP
ahardenbrook@swlaw.com

Kyle Hirsch, Immediate Past Chair, Bryan Cave LLP
kyle.hirsch@bryancave.com

Emily Gildar, Snell & Wilmer, LLP
egildar@swlaw.com

Cody J. Jess, Schian Walker
cjess@swazlaw.com

John Nasr, Gust Rosenfeld, PLC
jnasr@gustlaw.com

Randy Nussbaum, Nussbaum Gillis & Dinner, PC
rnussbaum@ngdlaw.com

John Parzych, Nussbaum Gillis & Dinner, PC
jparzych@ngdlaw.com

Lindsi Weber, Gallagher & Kennedy, PA

lindsi.weber@gknet.com

 

Krystal Ahart, JAMES F. KAHN, P.C. 

Krystal.Ahart@azbar.org

 

Alissa Brice, Ryley, Carlock & Applewhite

abrice@rcalaw.com

 
Janel Glynn, Gallgher & Kennedy, PA

janel.glynn@gknet.com


Michael Jones Allen Sala & Bayne, PLLC

mjones@asbazlaw.com


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership.com®  ::  Legal